Indian Polity MCQ-8

Dyarchy was first introduced under?

(A) Morley-Minto Reforms
(B) Mont-Ford Reforms
(C) Simon Commission Plan
(D) Government of India Act, 1935

The Constituent Assembly that finally framed India’s Constitution was set up?

(A) under the Indian Independence Act
(B) under the Government of India Act, 1935
(C) under the Cabinet Mission Plan, 1946
(D) by the Queen’s Proclamation

Consider the following statements
The objective of the Montague- Chelmsford Reforms of 1919 was
1. To give power to the local government.
2. To establish dyarchy in the provinces.
3. The extension of provincial government.
Which of these statements are correct?

(A) 1 and 2
(B) 1 and 3
(C) 2 and 3
(D) 1, 2 and 3

The most essential feature of the Parliamentary form of Government is the?

(A) sovereignty of the Parliament
(B) written Constitution
(C) accountability of the executive to the Legislature
(D) independent judiciary

There are different arguments given in a favour o/ power sharing in a democratic political system. Which one of the following is not one of them?

(A) It reduces conflict among different communities
(B) Major community does not impose its will on others
(C) Since all are affected by the policies of the government, they should be consulted in the governance of the country
(D) It speeds up the decision making process and improves the chances of unity of the country

Which Article of the Constitution provides that it shall be the endeavour of every State to provide adequate facility for instruction in the mother tongue at the primary stage of education?

(A) Article 349
(B) Article 350
(C) Article 350A
(D) Article 351

Which one of the following Articles of the Constitution of India has provision for the President to proclaim emergency?

(A) Article 352
(B) Article 355
(C) Article 356
(D) Article 360

Which of the following was/were the main feature(s) of the Government of India Act, 1919?
1.Introduction of separate electorates for Muslims.
2. Devolution of legislative authority by the centre.
3. Expansion and reconstitution of Central and Provincial Legislatures.
Select the correct answer using the codes given below

(A) Only 2
(B) 1 and 3
(C) Only 3
(D) 2 and 3

The members of the Constituent Assembly were?

(A) directly elected by the people
(B) all nominated by the Indian National Congress and the Muslim League
(C) in directly elected by the Provincial Assemblies
(D) all nominated by the British Government

In the federation under the Act of 1935, residuary powers were given to the?

(A) Federal legislature
(B) Provincial legislature
(C) Governor-General
(D) Provincial Governor

At which of its session, did the Congress officially accept the ‘Socialistic Pattern of Society’?

(A) Bombay Session of 1953
(B) Avadi Session of 1955
(C) Calcutta Session of 1957
(D) Nagpur Session of 1959

Match the following features of the Indian Constitution and their sources from which they have been incorporated.
List I—————— List II
A. Bill of Rights and Judicial Review I. England

B. Parliamentary system of Democracy 2. Ireland
C. Directive Principles 3. USA
D. Residuary powers with the Centre 4. Canada

(A) 4 1 2 3
(B) 1 2 3 4
(C) 3 4 2 1
(D) 3 1 2 4

Which one of the following statements correctly describes the Fourth Schedule of the Constitution of India?

(A) It lists the distribution of powers between the Union and the States
(B) It contains the languages listed in the Constitution
(C) It contains the provisions regarding administration of Tribal areas
(D) It allocates seats in the Council of States

Which one of the following provisions of the Indian Constitution deals with the appointment and dismissed of the Council of Ministers

(A) Article 70
(B) Article 72
(C) Article 74
(D) Article 75

Match List I (Act) with List II (Largely based on) and select the correct answer by using the codes given below the lists
List I——— List II
A. Indian Council Act, 1909 1. Mountbatten Plan
B. Government of India Act, 1919 2. Simon Commission
Report and Joint Select Committee Recommendation
C. Government of India Act, 1935 3. Montague- Chelmsford Reforms
D. Indian Independence Act, 19474. Morley-Minto Reforms

(A) 1 2 3 4
(B) 4 3 2 1
(C) 3 4 1 2
(D) 4 1 2 3

During which of the following periods did the Constituent Assembly deliberate upon and finalise the Constitution of India?

(A) November, 1946 – November, 1949
(B) November, 1947 – November, 1949
(C) December, 1946- November, 1949
(D) December, 1947 – November, 1949

The Indian Legislature was made bi-cameral for the first time by?

(A) Indian Council Act, 1892
(B) Indian Council Act, 1909
(C) The Government of India Act, 1919
(D) The Government of India Act, 1935