Indian Polity MCQ-36

Which of the following statements about the Vice-President of India are NOT correct ?

1. In order to be Vice-President a person must be qualified for election as a member of the House of the People.
2. A member of the State Legislative can seek election to that office.
3. The term of the office of the Vice-President is the same as that of the President
4. He can be removed through a formal impeachment.

Choose the correct answer from the codes given below :


A. 1 and 2
B. 2 and 3
C. 1 and 4
D. 3 and 4

The proposal relating to dismissal of the Vice-President can be presented in—

A. Any House of the Parliament
B. The Rajya Sabha
C. The Lok Sabha
D. None of these

Which of the following Vice-Presidents was NOT appointed as President of the country ?

A. Justice Mohammad Hidayatullah
B. R. Venkatraman
C. Krishnakant
D. Dr. Zakir Hussain

The resolution for removing the Vice-President of India can be moved in the :

A. Lok Sabha alone
B. Either House of Parliament
C. Joint sitting of Parliament
D. Rajya Sabha alone

Who among the following have held the office of the Vice-President of India ?

1. Mohammad Hidayatullah
2. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmad
3. Neelam Sanjiva Reddy
4. Shankar Dayal Sharma


A. 1, 2, 3 and 4
B. 1 and 4
C. 2 and 3
D. 3 and

Who was the first woman to become the Prime Minister of a country ?

A. Golda Meir
B. Margaret Thatcher
C. Indira Gandhi
D. Sirimavo Bhandharnaike

In India, the Prime Minister remains in office so long as he enjoys the—

A. Support of armed forces
B. Confidence of Rajya Sabha
C. Confidence of Lok Sabha
D. Support of the people

Which party provided two Prime Ministers in two year’s time ?

A. B.J.P.
B. Janata Party
C. Janata Dal
D. Samajwadi Janata Party

What is the tenure of the Prime Minister of India ?

A. Conterminous with the tenure of the Lok Sabha
B. Conterminous with the tenure of the President
C. As long as he enjoys the support of a majority in the Lok Sabha
D. Five Years

Who among the following is the Chairman of the National Integration Council ?

A. The President
B. The Vice-President
C. The Prime Minister
D. The Chief Justice of India

Consider the following statements—

1. The resignation of the Prime Minister means the resignation of the whole cabinet.
2. It is on the advice of Prime Minister that the President summons and prorogues Parliament and dissolve the Lok Sabha

Which of these statements are correct ?

A. Only 1
B. Only 2
C. Both 1 and 2
D. Neither 1 nor 2

Who of the following became Prime Minister of India without becoming a Union Cabinet Minister?

A. Chaudhary Charan Singh
B. H.D. Deve Gowda
C. MorarjiDesai
D. I.K. Gujral

Who was the Prime Minister of India when the Anti-Defection Bill was passed ?

A. Indira Gandhi
B. Rajiv Gandhi
C. V. P. Singh
D. H.D. Deve Gowda

Who among the following Indian Prime Ministers resigned before facing a vote of no-confidence in the Lok Sabha?

A. Chandra Sekhar
B. Morarji Desai
C. Chaudhary Charan Singh
D. V. P. Singh

‘Shakti-Sthal’ is related to whom ?

A. Smt. Indira Gandhi
B. Rajiv Gandhi
C. Mahatma Gandhi
D. Pt. Jawahar Lal Nehru

It was withdrawal of support by the Congress (I) which was responsible for the resignation of—

A. Charan Singh
B. Chandra Shekhar
C. H.D. Deve Gowda
D. All of these