Indian Polity MCQ-34

Which one of the following Prime Minister never faced the Parliament during the tenure ?

A. Chandra Shekhar
B. V.P. Singh
C. Chaudhary Charan Singh
D. Atal Behari Vajpayee

The office of the Deputy Prime Minister—

A. was created under the original Constitution
B. is an extra-constitutional growth
C. was created by 44th Amendment
D. was created by 85th Amendment

Who exercises the actual executive power under the Parliamentary form of Government?

A. Parliament
B. Prime Minister
C. President
D. Bureaucracy

The Union Ministers hold office during the pleasure of

A. The President
B. The Prime Minister
C. The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of India
D. The Speaker of the Lok Sabha

Who was the first Deputy Prime Minister of India ?

A. L. K. Advani
B. Morarji Desai
C. Charan Singh
D. Sardar Ballabhbhai Patel

Consider the following statements :

1. Jawaharlal Nehru was in his fourth term as Prime Minister of India at the time of his death.
2. Jawaharlal Nehru represented Rai Bareilly constituency as a Member of Parliament.
3. The first non-congress Prime Minister of India assumed the office in the year

Which of the statements given above is / are correct ?

A. 1 only
B. 3 only
C. 1 and 2
D. 1 and 3

The Prime Minister of India, at the time of his/her appointment

A. need not necessarily be a member of one of the Houses of the Parliament but must become a member of one of the Houses within six months
B. need not necessarily be a member of one of the Houses of the Parilament but must become a member of the LoK Sabha within six months
C. must be a member of one of the Houses of the Parliament
D. must be a member of the Lock Sabha

The Council of Ministers does NOT include—

A. Cabinet Ministers
B. Ministers of State
C. Ministers without Portfolio
D. Cabinet Secretary

The Union Cabinet is personally responsible to—

A. The Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha
B. The President of India
C. The Lok Sabha only
D. The Electorate

The Union Executive of India consists of—

A. The President, Vice-President and the Council of Ministers only
B. The President and the Council of Ministers only
C. The President, the Vice-President, the Council of Ministers and Lok Sabha Speaker
D. The President, The Prime Minister, Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha, Lok Sabha Speaker

Who was the first Foreign Minister of free India ?

A. Jawahar Lal Nehru
B. Gulzari Lal Nanda
C. Lal Bahadur Shastri
D. John Mathai

If the Finance Minister fails to get the Annual Budget passed in the Lok Sabha, the Prime Minister is expected to—

A. Compel the Finance Minister to resign
B. .Submit the resignation of his/her cabinet
C. Refer it to the Joint Session of both the Houses of Parliament
D. Form another cabinet with different members

The Council of Ministers of Indian Union is collectively responsible to the—

A. President
B. Prime Minister
C. Rajya Sabha
D. Lok Sabha

With reference to the Constitution of India, consider the following statements :

1. The Council of Ministers of the Union are responsible to both the Houses of Parliament
2. The President of India cannot appoint any one as Union Minister not recommended by Prime Minister

Which of the statements given above is / are correct?

A. 1 only
B. 2 only
C. Both 1 and 2
D. neither 1 nor 2

Who was the Defence Minister of India during the Indo-China War of 1962 ?

A. R. N. Thapar
B. Govind Ballabh Pant
C. V. K. Krishna Menon
D. Jagjivan Ram

In which one of the following Ministries, the Census Organisation has been functioning on a permanent footing since 1961 ?

A. Home Affairs
B. Health and Family Welfare
C. Human Resource Development
D. Social Justice and Empowerment