Indian Polity MCQ-40

Who decides dispute regarding disqualification of Members of Parliament ?

A. The President
B. The Concerned House
C. The Election Commission
D. The President in consultation with the Election Commission

Where was the first Parliamentary form of Government formed ?

A. Britain
B. Belgium
C. France
D. Switzerland

Secretariat of Parliament of India is—

A. Under Minister of Parliamentary Affairs
B. Under President
C. Independent of the Government
D. Under the Supreme Court

Which non-member can participate in the business of either House of Parliament ?

A. The Vice-President
B. The Solicitor General
C. The Attorney-General
D. The Chief Justice of India

Which of the following statement correctly describes a ‘hung Parliament’ ?

A. A Parliament in which no party has a clear majority
B. The Prime Minister has resigned but the Parliament is not dissolved
C. The Parliament lacks the quorum to conduct business
D. A lame duck Parliament –

The Union Budget is laid before the two Houses of Parliament in accordance with Article No. ……… of Indian Constitution :

A. 73
B. 112
C. 360
D. 370

The Parliament can make any law for the whole or any part India for implementing International treaties :

A. with the consent of all the State
B. with the consent of the majority of States
C. with the consent of the States concerned
D. without the consent of any State

In what ways does the Indian Parliament exercise control over the administration ?

A. Through Parliamentary Committees
B. Through Consultative Committees of various ministers
C. By making the administrations send periodic reports
D. By compelling the executive to issue writs

Match List-I (Country) with List-II (Name of Parliament) and select the correct answer using the codes given below the lists—


A. Netherlands
B. Ukraine
C. Poland
D. Japan


1. Diet
2. States General
3. Supreme Council
4. Sejm



A. 4123
B. 2341
C. 4321
D. 2143

Who of the following shall cause every recommendation made by the Finance Commission to be laid before each House of Parliament ?

A. The President of India
B. The Speaker of Lok Sabha
C. The Prime Minister of India
D. The union Finance Minister

Which one of the following is responsible for the preparation and presentation of Union Budget to the Parliament?

A. Department of Revenue
B. Department of Economic Affairs
C. Department of Financial Services
D. Department of Expenditure

Who is competent to dissolve the Rajya Sabha ?

A. The Chairman, Rajya Sabha
B. The President
C. The Joint-Session of Parliament
D. None

Rajya Sabha enjoys more power than the Lok Sabha in the case of—

A. Money bills
B. None-money bills
C. Setting up of new All India Services
D. Amendment of the Constitution

The tenure of the Rajya Sabha is—

A. 2 years
B. 5 years
C. 6 years
D. Permanent

What is the term of a member of the Rajya Sabha ?

A. 3 years
B. 4 years
C. 5 years
D. 6 years

The Vice-President is the ex-officio Chairman of the—

A. Rajya Sabha
B. Lok Sabha
C. Planning Commission
D. National Development Council