Indian Polity CTET,Competitive exam PDFs,Railways,State PSCs,RRB,Police

Indian Polity Mock Test-69

Question No:1

Rajya Sabha can delay the Finance Bill sent for its consideration by the Lok Sabha for a maximum period of—

A. One year
B. One month
C. Fourteen days
D. Seven days

Question No:2

What could be the maximum time limit of ‘Zero Hour’ ?

A. 30 minutes
B. 1 hour
C. 2 hours
D. Indefinite period

Question No:3

Which one of the following cannot be dissolved but can be abolished ?

A. Lok Sabha
B. Rajya Sabha
C. State Legislative Assemblies
D. None of these

Question No:4

Which one of the following states has be lowest number of elected members in the Rajya Sabha ?

A. Jharkhand
B. Chhattisgarh
C. Jammu and Kashmir
D. Himachal Pradesh

Question No:5

Consider the following statements with respect to qualification to become the member of Rajya Sabha and select the correct answer from the codes given below—

1. should be at least 30 years of age
2. should be registered as a voter on the list of voters, in the State from which the candidates is to be elected

3. should not hold office of profit under the State

Codes :

A. 1 and 2 are correct
B. 1 and 3 are correct
C. 2 and 3 are correct
D. 1, 2 and 3 are correct

Question No:6

What is the fixed strength of Rajya Sabha ?

A. 210
B. 220
C. 230
D. 250

Question No:7

How is Rajya Sabha dissolved ?

A. At the end of Chairman’s tenure
B. President dissolves after 5 years
C. Dissolved with Lok Sabha automatically
D. None of the above

Question No:8

In which House of the Parliament, the Presiding Officer is not a member of the House ?

A. Lok Sabha
B. Rajya Sabha
C. Vidhan Sabha
D. Vidhan Parishad

Question No:9

Which of the following special powers have been conferred on the Rajya Sabha by the Constitution of India?

A. To change the existing territory of State and to change the name of the State
B. To pass a resolution empowering the Parliament to make laws in the State List and to create one or more All India Services
C. To amend the election procedure of the President and to determine the pension of the President after his/her retirement
D. To determine the functions of the Election Commission and the determine the number of Election Commissioners

Question No:10

Which are the two states (other than U.P.) having the highest representation in Lok Sabha ?

A. Maharashtra and Andhra Pradesh
B. Tamil Nadu and Bihar
C. Bihar and West Bengal
D. Karnataka and Madhya Pradesh

Question No:11

The first mid-term elections for Lok Sabha were held in—

A. 1962
B. 1971
C. 1977
D. 1980

Question No:12

The Speaker’s vote in the Lok Sabha is called—

A. Casting Vote
B. Sound Vote
C. Direct Vote
D. Indirect Vote

Question No:13

As per the Constitution of India, how many members are represented by the Union Territories in the Lok Sabha ?

A. 18
B. 20
C. 22
D. 24

Question No:14

The maximum strength of the Lok Sabha, as stipulated in the Constitution of India, is—

A. 500
B. 525
C. 550
D. 552

Question No:15

The number of Anglo-Indians who can be nominated by the President to the Lok Sabha is—

A. 2
B. 3
C. 4
D. 5

Question No:16

Union Budget is always presented first in—

A. The Lok Sabha
B. The Rajya Sabha
C. Joint Session of the Parliament
D. Meeting of the Union Cabinet

Question No:17

In the Lok Sabha, unless there is a quorum, the Speaker should not conduct the proceedings, To ensure this—

A. The Speaker usually counts the heads at the beginning of every day’s first session
B. The Parliamentary Secretariat keeps a watch on the attendance in the House and informs the Speaker
C. The attendance register kept at the entrance is monitored
D. The Speaker relies only on the members to bring to his notice the lack or a quorum

Question No:18

The Council of Ministers of Indian Union is collectively responsible to the—

A. President
B. Prime Minister
C. Rajya Sabha
D. Lok Sabha

Question No:19

Which of the following States elect only one member of the Lok Sabha ?

A. Arunachal Pradesh
B. Manipur
C. Sikkim
D. Tripura

Question No:20

The allocation of seats in the present Lok Sabha is based on which one of the following Census ?

A. 1971
B. 1981
C. 1991
D. 2001