Indian Polity Competitive exam PDFs,State PSCs,UPSC Civil Services

Indian Polity Mock Test-53

Question No:1

The number of Union Territories in India is—

A. 5
B. 6
C. 7
D. 9

Question No:2

Of the following, the town does not come within the National Capital Region(NCR) is—

A. Panipat
B. Rohtak
C. Khurja
D. Mathura

Question No:3

Which of the following States is a member of the ‘Seven Sisters’ ?

A. West Bengal
B. Tripura
C. Orissa
D. Bihar

Question No:4

Sikkim was made an integral part of India under the—

A. 36th Amendment
B. 39th Amendment
C. 40th Amendment
D. 42nd Amendment

Question No:5

Consider the following statements :

The creation of a new State in India from an existing State involves the consent of the—
1. Supreme Court
2. Legislature of the State Concerned
3. President
4. Parliament
Which of the statements are correct ?

A. 1,2 and 3
B. 2, 3 and 4
C. land 4
D. 1, 2, 3 and 4

Question No:6

The States of the Indian Union can be reorganized or their boundaries altered by—

A. An executive order of the Union Government with the consent of the concerned State Government
B. The Union Parliament by a simple majority in the ordinary process of legislation
C. Two-thirds majority of both the Houses of Parliament
D. Two-thirds majority of both the Houses of Parliament and the consent of the concerned State legislature

Question No:7

Among the following States, which one was formed last?

A. Andhra Pradesh
B. Gujarat
C. Karnataka
D. Punjab

Question No:8

Which one of the following is the first State to have been •formed on linguistic basis ?

A. Andhra Pradesh
B. Gujarat
C. Karnataka
D. Punjab

Question No:9

What is the correct chronological order of Which the following States of the Indian Union were created or granted full statehood ?

1. Andhra Pradesh
2. Maharashtra
3. Nagaland
4. Haryana

Select the correct answer using the code given below :

A. 1,2,3,4
B. 2,1,3,4
C. 1, 2, 4, 3
D. 2, 1, 4, 3

Question No:10

How many States and Union Territories are there in India :

A. 25 States and 7 Union territories
B. 28 States and 7 Union territories(including National Capital Territory-1)
C. 24 States and 6 Union territories
D. None of the above

Question No:11

The power to curve out a new State is vested in—

A. The Parliament
B. The President
C. The Council of Ministers
D. State’s Reorganisation Commission

Question No:12

Consider the following statements and state which of them is / are correct with the help of given codes :

1. The term ‘Union of States’ has been used in the Constitution because Indian States have no right to recede.
2. The S. K. Dhar Commission preferred reorganization of States on administrative convenience rather than on linguistic basis.
3. The Congress Committee under Pt. Nehru, Sardar Patel and Pattabhi Sitaramayya did not favour linguistic basis for reorganization of states.

Codes :

A. Only 1
B. Only 1 and 2
C. Only 1 and 3
D. All of these

Question No:13

Arrange the following Indian State in a chronological order, according to their formation, and select the correct answer by using the codes given at the end—

1. Chhattisgarh
2. Arunachal Pradesh
3. Jharkhand
4. Sikkim


A. 4,1,3,2
B. 4,2,1,3
C. 3,2,1,4
D. 1,4,2,3

Question No:14

Andhra Pradesh was created as a linguistic state in—

A. 1950
B. 1953
C. 1956
D. 1961

Question No:15

By which one of thef ollowing Constitutional Amendments Delhi has become National Capital Region (NCR) ?

A. 61st Amendment
B. 69th Amendment
C. 71st Amendment
D. 79th Amendment

Question No:16

The following States were created after Arrange them in ascending chronological order of their formation and choose your answer from the given codes :

1. Haryana
2. Sikkim
3. Nagaland
4. Meghalaya


A. 1, 2, 3, 4
B. 2, 3, 4,1
C. 3, 1, 4, 2
D. 2, 4, 1, 3

Question No:17

‘Uttarakhand’ State came into existence on—

A. November I, 2000
B. November 9, 2000
C. November 10, 2001
D. January 1, 2008

Question No:18

Which of the following is NOT a Union Territory ?

A. Goa
B. Lakshadweep
C. Dadar and Nagar Haveli
D. Chandigarh

Question No:19

In which year was the State of’Jharkhand formed ?

A. 1998
B. 1999
C. 2000
D. 2001

Question No:20

One of the following is NOT a Union Territory—

A. Tripura
B. Daman and Diu
C. Lakshadweep
D. Pondicherry