Indian History MCQ-23

Who was the first Indian to become member of the British Parliament ?

A. Badruddin Tyabji
B. W.C. Bannerjee
C. D.N. Wacha
D. Dadabhai Naoroji

In which year the Indian National Congress was established ?

A. 1888
B. 1887
C. 1886
D. 1885

W ho was the Viceroy of India at the time of the formation of the Indian National Congress ?

A. Curzon
B. Canning
C. Lworence
D. Dufferin

Who wanted Indian National Congress to be a ‘Safety Valve’ ?

A. A.O. Hume
B. Lord Lytton
C. W.C. Bannerjee
D. Surendranath Bannerjee

Who among the following was NOT a moderate ?

A. Bipin Chandra Pal
B. Peroz Shah Mehta
C. Surendranath Bannerjee
D. Copal Krishna Gokhle

When was founded the Indian Association ?

A. 1876
B. 1884
C. 1887
D. 1890

Who was called ‘Grand Old Man of India’ ?

A. Dadabhai Naoroji
B. Jamshedji Tata
C. Surendranath Bannerjee
D. C. Rajagopalachari

Assertion (A) :The basic weakness of the early nationalist movement lay in its narrow social base.

Reason (R): It fought for the narrow interests of the social groups with joined it.

A. Both A and R is true and R is the correct explanation of A
B. Both A and R is true but R is not a correct explanation of A
C. A is true but R is false
D. A is false but R is true

Consider the following statements about Madam Bhikaji Cama :

1. Madam Cama unfurled the National Flag at the International Socialist Conference in Paris in the year of 190
2. Madam cama served as private secretary to Dadabhai Naoroji.
3. Madam cama was born to parsi.

Which of the statement (s) given above is / are correct ?

A. 1,2 and 3
B. 2 and 3 only
C. 1 and 2 only
D. 3 only

Who among the following, rejected the title of ‘Knight hood’ and refused to accept a position in the council of the Secretary of State for India ?

A. Motilal Nehru
B. M.G. Ranade
C. G.K. Gokhle
D. B.C. Tilak

Maulana Abul Kalam Azad started an urdu weekly, the Al-Hilal in 1912, but on its being banned by the Government, he founded the Al-Balagh in—

A. 1913
B. 1914
C. 1915
D. 1916

Who was the first women president of Indian National Congress ?

A. Sarojini Naidu
B. Sucheta Kripalani
C. Rajkumari Amrit Kaur
D. Annie Besant

In which session of the Indian National Congress did the historic union of Congress and Muslim League take place ?

A. Surat
B. Bombay
C. Calcutta
D. Lucknow

Who was the founder-editor of the famous newspaper Kesari during the National struggle ?

A. Mahatma Gandhi
B. Jawaharlal Nehru
C. Lokmanya Tilak
D. Muhammad Iqbal

The split between the Extremists and Moderates came up in the open at the Surat Congress session in the year—

A. 1905
B. 1906
C. 1907
D. 1910

All India Muslim League was formed at—

A. Lahore
B. Aligarh
C. Lucknow
D. Dhaka

With reference to the colonial rule in India, consider the following events :

I. Morley-Minto Reforms Act
II. Transfer of the capital from Calcutta to Delhi
III. First World War IV. Lucknow Pact

The correct chronological order of these events is :