Indian History MCQ-24

Consider the following statements regarding Freedom Movement:

I. The Congress was split into two factions as its Surat Session in 190
II. Bal Gangadhar Tilak revived the festivals of Ganpati and Shivaji in Maharashtra to arouse a new spirit among the youth of the country.
III. Aurobindo Ghosh was arrested in connection with Alipore bomb case

. Which of these statements (s) is/are correct ?

A. III only
B. I and II
C. II and II
D. I, II and III

Consider the following nationalists—

1. Bal Gangadhar Tilak
2. Gopalkrishna Gokhle
3. Bipin Chandra Pal
4. Lala Lajpat Rai
Who among these were referred to as militant nationalist of the freedom movements ?

A. 1,2 and 3
B. 2 and 4
C. 1, 3 and 4
D. 1, 2, 3 and 4

Who of the following was a founder of the Bharat Naujawan Sabha in 1926 ?

A. Lale Lajpat Rai
B. Sardar Bhagat Singh
C. Lala Hardayal
D. Sohan Singh Bhakhna

With reference to the Indian freedom struggle, which one of the following is the correct chronological order of the given events ?

A. Partition of Bengal—Surat Split of Congress— Lucknow Pact
B. Partition of Bengal—Lucknow Pact—Surat Split of Congress
C. Surat Split of Congress—Partition of Bengal— Lucknow Pact
D. Surat Split of Congress—Lucknow Pact—Partition of Bengal

Other than Annie Besant, who among the following also launched Home Rule Movement in India ?

A. Aurobindo Ghosh
B. Bal Gangadhar Tilak
C. Gopal Krishna Gokhle
D. MotiLal Nehru

Assertion (A) : Bhagat Singh and Batukeshwar Dutt threw bombs in the Legistative Assembly in 1
Reason (R) : They wanted to kill some members of the Legislative Assembly as a revenge of the Death of Lala Lajpat Rai.

A. A and R is true and R is the Correct explanation of A.
B. Both A and R is true but R is not a correct explanation of A.
C. A is true but R is false
D. A is false but R is true

Consider the following statements :
1. Prior to the establishment of Home Rule League by Annie Besant, it was Lokrfianya Tilak who had set up a Home Rule League at Poona.
2. The Congress in its Bombay Session in 1915, passed a resolution demanding Home Rule for India.

Which of the statements given above is / are correct ?

A. 1 only
B. 2 only
C. Both 1 and 2
D. Neither 1 nor 2

Which one of the following pairs is not correctly matched ?

A. Partition of Bengal — 1905
B. Foundation of Muslim League — 1906
C. Surat Split — 1907
D. Transfer of India’s Capital from Calcutta to Delhi — 1909

Who among the following leaders dominated the Lucknow Pact in December, 1916 ?

A. Jawahar Lal Nehru
B. Bal Gangadhar Tilak
C. Moti Lal Nehru
D. Madan Mohan Malviya

Who of the following revolutionaries set up the United India House in the USA ?

A. Ramnath Puri and Vir Savarkar
B. Taraknath Das and G.D. Kumar
C. Lala Hardayal and Bhagat Singh
D. Harnam Singh and Bhagwan Sing

Consider the following paragraph—

He was seriously injured in police lathi charge in Lahore during, demonstrations against Simon Commison for which he subsequently died in November 1 Later on the British Officer, who was responsible for the lathi charge on him, was shot dead by Bhagat Singh and Rajguru.

The revolutionary referred to in the above paragraph is—

A. Pandit Gobind Ballabh Pant
B. Mangal Singh
C. (cj Moti Lal Nehru
D. Lala Lajpat Rai

Which of the following leaders presided over the Congress Session at Calcutta in 1906 ?

A. Bal Gangadhar Tilak
B. Gopal Krishna Gokhle
C. Aurobindo Ghosh
D. Dadabhai Naoroji

Which one of the following was not an extremist ?

A. Bal Gangadhar Tilak
B. Madan Lal Dhingra
C. Udham Singh
D. Gopal Krishna Gokhle

Who gave the ‘Inquilab Zindabad’ slogan ?

A. Iqbal
B. M.K. Gandhi
C. Bhagat Singh
D. S.C. Bose

Which one of the following leaders belonged to the Extremist wing of the Congress ?

A. Aurobindo Ghosh
B. Dadabhai Naoroji
C. G.K. Gokhle
D. S.N. Banerjee

Who said, ‘Swaraj is my birthright and I will have it’ ?

A. Mahatma Gandhi
B. Bipin Chandra Pal
C. Gopal Krishna Gokhle
D. Bal Gangadhar Tilak

The Muslim deputation (Under the leadership of Aga Khan) meets Lord Minto in 1906 at Shimla and pleaded for—

A. separate electorate for Muslims
B. a composite electorate
C. higher representation to the Hindus
D. special representation to. Muslim by nomination