General Awareness MCQ-13

Who appoints the Chairperson of the National Human Rights Commission (NHRC) of India?

(A) The Prime Minister
(B) The Home Minister
(C) The Chief Justice of India
(D) The President

Which of the following rivers does not flow into Bay of Bengal?

(A) Krishna
(B) Godavari
(C) Narmada
(D) Ganga

The value of a commodity expressed in terms of money is known as:

(A) Utility
(B) Demand
(C) Value
(D) Price

The Finance Commission is constituted every:

(A) Three years
(B) Four years
(C) Five years
(D) Six years

In which year was the Reserve Bank of India nationalized?

(A) 1935
(B) 1937
(C) 1947
(D) 1949

The Fundamental Duties were added to the Indian constitution by which of the following amendments?

(A) 24 th amendment
(B) 42 nd amendment
(C) 44 th amendment
(D) 36 th amendment

Who among the following Indian rulers defeated Seleucus Nicator?

(A) Bimbisara
(B) Bindusara
(C) Chandragupta Maurya
(D) Ashoka

Guwahati is situated on the bank of which of the following rivers?

(A) Brahmaputra
(B) Ganga
(C) Hooghly
(D) Teesta

The green color of the plant leaves is due to the presence of:

(A) Mitochondria
(B) Chlorophyll
(C) Lipids
(D) Carbohydrates

Who was fondly called “Madiba”?

(A) Nelson Mandela
(B) Martin Luther King Junior
(C) Wangari Mathai
(D) None of these

Unbreakable is the autobiography of which of the following sportspersons?

(A) Saina Nehwal
(B) Mary Kom
(C) Sania Mirza
(D) Karanam Malleswari

Who propounded the theory of economic drain of India during the British Imperialism?

(A) Mahatma Gandhi
(B) W.C. Banerjee
(C) Dadabhai Naoroji
(D) Gopal Krishna Gokhale

Entomology is a science that studies:

(A) Climate Change
(B) Formation of rocks
(C) Human behavior
(D) Insects

Which of the following is responsible for transpiration in plants?

(A) Xylem
(B) Phloem
(C) Bark
(D) Stomata

The University of Nalanda was established during the reign of emperor:

(A) Kumaragupta-I
(B) Skandagupta
(C) Chandragupta-I
(D) Harshavardhana

The Kandariya Mahadeva Temple is located in:

(A) Mount Abu
(B) Khajuraho
(C) Varanasi
(D) Haridwar

Who was the Vice President of the Constituent Assembly of India?

(A) Rajendra Prasad
(B) Pattabhi Seetaramayya
(C) H.C. Mookherjee
(D) T.T. Krishnamachari

Cortisol is a steroid hormone produced by which of the following endocrine glands?

(A) Pancreas
(B) Pituitary
(C) Hypothalamus
(D) Adrenal