Indian History State PSCs,UPSC Civil Services,NDA,CDS,Railways,SSC

Indian History Mock Test-82

Question No:1

Who was the founder of Aligarh Movement ?

A. Sir Agha Khan
B. Maulana Altaf Hussain Hali
C. Maulana Shibli Numani
D. Sir Syed Ahmed Khan

Question No:2

When was the All India Women’s Conference founded ?

A. 1924
B. 1925
C. 1926
D. 1927

Question No:3

Which religious reformer of Western India was known as ‘Lokhitwadi’ ?

A. Gopal Hari Deshmukh
B. R.G. Bhandarkar
C. Mahadev Govind Ranade
D. B.C. Tilak

Question No:4

Match List-I with List-II and select the correct answer using the codes given below the Lists—

List-I (Institution)
A. Atmiya Sabha
B. Sanskrit College
. National Council of Education
D. Adi Brahmo Samaj

List-II (Associated Person)

1. Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar
2. Aurobindo Ghosh
3. Raja Ram Mohan Roy
4. Devendra Nath Tagore

A. 2431
B. 3124
C. 2134
D. 3421

Question No:5

Who founded the Bethune College in Calcutta ?

A. Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar
B. Raja Ram Mohan Roy
C. Rabindranath Tagore
D. Surendranath Banerji

Question No:6

The original name of Swami Dayanand Saraswati was—

A. Mula Shankar
B. Abhi Shankar
C. Gauri Shankar
D. Daya Shankar

Question No:7

The 19th century reawakening in India was confined to the—

A. priestly class
B. upper middle class
C. rich peasantry
D. urban landlords

Question No:8

Consider the following statements related to Raja Ram Mohan Roy :

1. He advocated widow remarriage
2. He strongly advocated for the abolition of Sati system
3. He advocated for the promotion of English Education

A. only 1
B. 1 and 2
C. 2 and 3
D. I, 2 and 3

Question No:9

Match List-I with List-II and select the correct answer using the codes given below the Lists—

List-I (Society)— List-II (Founder)
A. Theosophical Society 1. Dadabhai Naoroji
B. London Indian Society 2. Lala Lajpat Rai
C. Servants of India Society 3. Annie Besant
D. Servants of People Society 4. Gopal Krishna Gokhle
Codes: ABCD

A. 1342
B. 3124
C. 3142
D. 1324

Question No:10

Who among the following set up the Atmiya Sabha in Calcutta in the first half of the nineteenth century ?

A. Radhakant Dev
B. Ram Mohan Roy
C. Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar
D. Debendranath Tagore

Question No:11

During the colonial period of India, Asiatic Society of Bengal was founded—

A. For carrying on researches into the past history and antiquities of India
B. To examine the policy of colonial discrimination against the Indians
C. For developing English education in India
D. For carrying out social reforms

Question No:12

Who founded the Brahmo Samaj ?

A. Debendranath Tagore
B. Keshavchandra Sen
C. Raja Ram Mohan Roy
D. Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar

Question No:13

Select the correct chronological sequence of the formation of the given organisations—

A. Brahma Sabha-Arya Samaj-Madras Mahajan Sabha
B. Brahma Sabha-Madras Mahajan Sabha-Arya Samaj
C. Madras Mahajan Sabha-Brahma Sabha-Arya Samaj
D. Madras Mahajan Sabha—Arya Samaj—Brahma Sabha

Question No:14

Who among the f ollowing was the founder of the Servants of India Society ?

A. Bal Gangadhar Tilak
B. Dadabhai Noroji
C. Gopal Krishna Gokhle
D. Lala Lajpat Rai

Question No:15

Who founded the Fort william College at Calcutta ?

A. Lord Cornwallis
B. Lord Ellenborough
C. Lord Macalay
D. Lord Wellesely

Question No:16

Satiwas declared illegal and punishable by the Regulation XVII during the Governor Generalship of—

A. Lord William Bentick
B. Lord Canning
C. Lord Ripon
D. Lord Dalhousie

Question No:17

Match List-I with List-II and select the correct answer using the codes given below the Lists—:
List-I (Movement)— List-II (Personality) :
A. Satya Shodhaka Mandal 1. Bal Shastri Javekar :
B. Manav Dharma Sabha 2. Jyotiba Phule :
C. Darpan 3. Henry Vivian Derozio:
D. Young Bengal Movement 4. Mehtaji Durgaram Mancharam :
Codes: A B C D

A. 1 2 3 4
B. 2 4 1 3
C. 4 2 1 3
D. 2 1 3 4

Question No:18

Match List-I with List-II and select the correct answer using the codes given below the Lists—:
List-I (Year)– List-II (Event) :
A. 1764 1. Wood’s Dispatch :
B. 1829 2. Widow Remarriage Act :
C. 1854 3. Abolition of Sati:
D. 1856 4. Battle of Buxar:
5. Assumption of Diwani :
Codes: :

A. 4 1 2 5
B. 5 4 12
C. 4312
D. 1 3 2 5

Question No:19

Who among the following founded the Theosophical Society \n India in 1879 ?

A. Madam Blavatsky and H.S. Olcott
B. Madam Blavatsky and Annie Besant
C. H. S. Olcott and Annie Besant
D. A.O. Hume and Annie Besant

Question No:20

Assertion (A) : The Vernacular Press Act was repealed in 1882 by Lord Ripon. :
Reason (R) : The act did not discriminate between English Press and the Vernacular Press.

A. Both A and R is true and R is the correct explanation of A
B. Both A and R is true but R is not a correct explanation of A
C. A is true but R is false
D. A is false but R is true