Indian History Competitive exam PDFs, Civil Services,NDA,IBPS,CTET,

Indian History Mock Test-87

Question No:1

The sepoy Mutiny took place in the year—

A. 1757
B. 1761
C. 1836
D. 1857

Question No:2

Consider the following native rulers—

1. Kunwar Singh
2. Nana Sahib
3. Scindhia of Gwalior
4. Nizam of Hyderabad

Who among these native rulers did NOT participate in the Revolt of 1857 ?

A. 1,2 and 4
B. 2 and 3
C. 3 and 4
D. 1, 2, 3 and 4

Question No:3

Match List-I with List-II and select the correct answer using the codes given below the lists :

List-I(Leaders)——–List-II (Area under their operation)
(a) Maulavi Ahmed Shah 1. Barrackpore
(b) Mangal Pandey 2. Faizabad
(c) BakhtKhan 3. Kanpur
(d) Nana Sahib 4. Delhi


A. 2 4 1 3
B. 3 4 1 2
C. 2 1 4 3
D. 3 1 4 2

Question No:4

During India’s freedom struggle, the Sepoy Mutiny started from which one of the following places ?

A. Agra
B. Gwalior
C. Jhansi
D. Meerut

Question No:5

Who is the author of the book ‘The Last Mughal: The fall of a Dynasty, Delhi, 1857’ ?

A. John Kirkland
B. William Dalrymple
C. Thomas Wilson
D. Simon Digby

Question No:6

Kunwar Singh led the revolt of 1857 in—

A. Punjab
B. Bengal
C. Bihar
D. Maharashtra

Question No:7

The Revolt of 1857 was witnessed by the poet—

A. Mir Taqi Mir
B. Zauq
C. Ghalib
D. Iqbal

Question No:8

Who of the following was the bitterest enemy of the British during the Revolt of 1857 ?

A. Maulavi Ahmdullah Shah
B. Maulavi Imadulah
C. Maulana Fazi-i-Haq Khairabadi
D. Nawab Liaquat Ali

Question No:9

Which one of the following commissions is associated with the Army Re-organisation after the suppression of the Revolt of 1857 ?

A. Public Service Commission
B. Peal Commission
C. Hunter Commission
D. Simon Commission

Question No:10

After the revolt of 1857 the British recruited the soldiers from the—

A. Brahmins of UP and Bihar
B. Bengalis and Orrias from the East
C. Gurkhas, Sikhs and Punjabis in the North
D. Madras Presidency and Marathas

Question No:11

When did Queen Victoria declared the taking over of Indian Administration under British Crown ?

A. 1 November, 1858
B. 31 December, 1857
C. 6 January, 1958
D. 17 November, 1859

Question No:12

The revolt of 1857 at Lucknow was led by—

A. Begum Hazarat Mahal
B. Tantia Tope
C. Rani Laxmi Bai
D. Nana Sahib

Question No:13

‘India war of Independence 1857’ is written by—

A. S.N. Sen
B. R.C. Majumdar
C. V.D. Savarkar
D. S.B. Chaudhari

Question No:14

The birth place of Maharani Laxmi Bai, the heroine of the 1857 freedom struggle is—

A. Agra
B. Jhansi
C. Varanasi
D. Vrindaban

Question No:15

The modern historian who called the revolt of 1857 as the ‘first war of independence’ was—

A. R.C. Majumdar
B. S.N. Sen
C. V.D. Savarkar
D. AshokMehta

Question No:16

‘In this instance we could not play off the Mohammedans against the Hindus’. To which one of the following events did this remark of Aitchison relate ?

A. Revolt of 1857
B. Champaran Satyagraha (1917)
C. Khilafat and Non-Cooperation Movement
D. August Movement of 1942

Question No:17

Which one of the following territories was NOT affected by the Revolt of 1857 ?

A. Jhansi
B. Chittor
C. Jagdishpur
D. Lucknow

Question No:18

With reference to the ‘revolt of the year 1857’, who of the following was betrayed by a friend captured and put to death by the British ?

A. Nana Sahib
B. Kunwar Singh
C. Khan Bahadur Khan
D. Tantiya Tope