Current Affairs Objective Questions RRB,IBPS Clerks,SBI POs,SSC,UPSC

Current General Awareness-2016 MCQ-59

Axis Bank tied up with which university to offer specialised banking courses on 14 September 2016 ?

(A) Benars Hindu University
(B) Osmania University
(C) Bangalore University
(D) Indira Gandhi National Open University
(E) Calicut University

According to legal Framework of Reserve Bank of India, which acts are called Umbrella Acts?

(A) RBI Act 1934
(B) Banking Regulation Act 1949
(C) Negotiable Instruments Act 1881
(D) Foreign Exchange Management Act 1999
(E) Only a & b

What do you mean by dematerialization? Give details?

(A) Dematerialization is the process by which physical certificates of an investor are converted to an equivalent number of securities in electronic form and credited in the investor’s account with its DP.
(B) In order to dematerialize certificates; an investor will have to first open an account with a DP and then request for the dematerialization of certificates by filling up a dematerialization request form [DRF]
(C) DRF is available with the DP and submitting the same along with the physical certificates.
(D) All the above
(E) None of these

Where is Gangotri National Park located?

(A) Madhya Pradesh
(B) Uttarakhand
(C) Orissa
(D) Jharkhand
(E) Rajastan

Moortidevi Award is given in the field of..:….

(A) Arts
(B) Theatre
(C) Literature
(D) Social Service
(E) Journalism

Jamie Vardy is a famous football player who plays for the national team of?

(A) Brazil
(B) Argentina
(C) Chile
(D) Portugal
(E) England

The Government of India in the Union Budget 2016-17 had announced its resolve to double the income of fanners by 2022.Which of the following are part of it?

(A) Focus on irrigation with large budgets, with the aim of “per drop, more crop”
(B) Provision of quality seeds and nutrients based on soil health of each field. Investments in warehousing and cold chains to prevent post-harvest crop losses. Promotion of value addition through food processing
(C) Creation of a national farm market, removing distortions and develop infrastructure such as e-platform across 585 stations. Strengthening of crop insurance scheme to mitigate risks at affordable cost
(D) Promotion of ancillary activities like poultry, bee-keeping and fisheries
(E) All the above

RBI retained its GDP growth projection for this fiscal year at ………. in the recent declared Monetary Policy Review.

(A) 7.2 percent
(B) 6.6 percent
(C) 7.6 percent
(D) 8.6 percent
(E) 7.0 percent

Which bank has sold 18 per cent share in the joint venture (with Star Union Dai-ichi Life Insurance Company Ltd.) to its Japanese partner?

(A) Indian Bank
(B) Union Bank of India
(C) United Bank of India
(D) Bank of India
(E) Bank of Maharashtra

How a Letter of Credit issued by a bank is useful?

(A) This facility is provided on behalf of customers enabling them to import raw material required for manufacturing goods for project exports
(B) to meet marriage expenses
(C) to meet hospital / medical charges
(D) to meet election propaganda expenses
(E) None of these

Name the former Indian pacer who has been made an honorary life member of the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), becoming the 24th Indian cricketer to be bestowed the honour.

(A) Irfan Pathan
(B) Ajith Agarkar
(C) Zaheer Khan
(D) Praveen Kumar
(E) Ashish Nehra

The book ‘Kunjamma Ode to a Nightingale: M.S. Subbulakshmi’ has been authored by……..

(A) Shiva Pillai
(B) Anna Mani
(C) Alamelu Das
(D) Lakshmi Vishwanathan
(E) Rangarajan

Which bank’s tag line is “The Banker to Every Indian”?

(A) Punjab National Bank
(B) Allahabad Bank
(C) Indian Overseas Bank
(D) Indian Bank
(E) State Bank of India

Banking and financial services all over the world are regulated usually by the Monetary Authority of the land.Who controls this function in India?

(A) Ministry of Finance

Present Repo Rate fixed at………..

(A) 6.25%
(B) 6.50%
(C) 7.00%
(D) 21%
(E) 4.00%

Which of the following Committees/ Task force was set up to suggest reforms in Banking Sector?

(A) Task Force on Infrastructure
(B) Narasimham Committee
(C) Rajinder Sachar Committee
(D) Swaminathan Committee
(E) None of these